W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award

WI was naughty and missed out two days from the A to Z Challenge. I’ve never missed out things like that, even when I did BEDN last year I never missed a day. I’m a workaholic. I’m addicted to doing things.

But I did have a good excuse. On Friday 25 April, I won the Most Innovative Blog Award at the National UK Blog Awards!

Crazy huh? I’ve never really won anything, nothing of that importance anyway or something to show off my hard work or passion. It’s even crazier thinking this blog started out as a cathartic tool and is pretty much full of random stuff. But I did it! It was tough going through a public vote and trying to get friend family to vote.

1969191_10152369305857188_1920108287603324975_nThen everyone was shortlisted and I somehow managed to get through to the finals (after feeding everyone at work chocolate cupcakes!) and the last stage involved all of the blogs to be judged by people of influence across the 12 industry sectors across the UK. No messing around then.

It was a great evening – not only because I got to dress up like a lady in a dress and heels for once but I got to mingle and meet friends I’ve made through the awards, #bloghour and social media in general. I giggled with the lovely Sue from Sue’s Trifles, whooped for the great John at Fit For 365, ate and drank with the ever entertaining Dom from Dom Movies, and hugged the amazing Becki who co-founded the awards and writes for Events Northern.

1982063_10152369306067188_3802623356818007435_nNot only that but I FINALLY got to meet Caitlin from I’m a damn student, what do I know? who I’ve missed at a couple of events and was so proud to see her win the Events Blog award. She thoroughly deserved it. The gorgeous Suzy from Eeep I’m a Blogger was Highly Commended in the Lifestyle category and the most glamorous Alex from the Bambella Blog won the Retail and Fashion Blog Award.

My award was called out last so by the time it got called out, my nails were bitten down to the core waiting while these lovelies won their awards. When they called my name out my legs turned to jelly and I even tripped on the way up to the stage. Yes, you may call me Jennifer Lawrence from now on.

It was incredible and such an honour to win the award. It just goes to show that when you put your mind to it (and give everyone chocolate cupcakes), you can achieve anything. It also helps when you have great friends and family who believe in you, and want you to be happy. Thank you to everyone who voted for me.

Don’t limit yourself. Many people limit themselves to what they think they can do. You can go as far as your mind lets you. What you believe, remember, you can achieve ~ Mary Kay Ash

 

|| Part of the A to Z Challenge ||

A post a day except Sunday for the month of April to cover topics beginning with each letter of the alphabet.

Previously on A to Z:

V is for Val Kilmer

U is for Ursula

T is for Talking

S is for Snoring

R is for Reality

Q is for Queen

P is for Paleo

N is for Norwegian Trolls

M is for (not) Making Friends

L is for Love (cue puke)

K is for Keyser Soze

J is for Jiminy Cricket

I is for Investigative Journalism

H is for Hibernate

G is for the Great South Run

F is for The Fureys

E is for Everlasting Gobstoppers

D is for Derren Brown

C is for Coffee

B is for Bill Bailey

A is for Avocado

14 responses to “W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award

  1. Pingback: X is for Xena Warrior Princess | theocdsquirrel·

  2. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

  3. Pingback: Z is for Zippa-dee-doo-dah | theocdsquirrel·

  4. Pingback: #longtings = #goodtings | theocdsquirrel·

  5. Pingback: Tuesday Shoesday – and the winner is..! UK Blog Award winners’ favourite shoes | Cassiefairy's thrifty lifestyle blog·

  6. Pingback: One to Watch… | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a comment