U is for Disney’s Ursula

U

I admit that in the past I’ve been nasty. They weren’t kidding when they called me, well, a witch.” – Ursula.

One Disney character that gets overlooked is probably one of my favourites. Funny thing is I probably wouldn’t have said that all those years ago when I first watched The Little Mermaid, but I’ve grown up a little since then.

The main antagonist in the 1989 Disney film, Ursula is a plump light lavender-skinned, white-haired female human with black octopus-like tentacles from the waist down.

ursulaI like her because she isn’t one dimensional like a lot of characters in cartoons. She is a very dark and sinister villain with a fantastic sense of humour. She isn’t just a villain because she’s mean, she’s a villain because she’s manipulative and has a talent of being persuasive when she wants something.

In the middle of a field of underwater lava tubes and fissures, Ursula lives in a leviathan (an enormous skeleton of a sea monster or whale), lined with a garden of writhing, green polyps – which all actually used to be mer-people.

What makes her incredibly interesting is that the design of her character was based upon drag performer Divine. Her character has also been described as part Shakespearean actress, with all the flair, flamboyance and theatricality, and part used-car salesman with a touch of con artist. Doesn’t that sound crazy enough to be good?

And did I mention that she has magical powers?

What’s your favourite Disney character?

 

|| Part of the A to Z Challenge ||

A post a day except Sunday for the month of April to cover topics beginning with each letter of the alphabet.

Previously on A to Z:

T is for Talking

S is for Snoring

R is for Reality

Q is for Queen

P is for Paleo

N is for Norwegian Trolls

M is for (not) Making Friends

L is for Love (cue puke)

K is for Keyser Soze

J is for Jiminy Cricket

I is for Investigative Journalism

H is for Hibernate

G is for the Great South Run

F is for The Fureys

E is for Everlasting Gobstoppers

D is for Derren Brown

C is for Coffee

B is for Bill Bailey

A is for Avocado

12 responses to “U is for Disney’s Ursula

  1. Ursula is a great U! Probably my favorite Disney character at the moment is Olaf! He’s such a dreamer, yet he’s not stupid. He made Frozen to me. Cheers.

  2. I love villains! Sadly, I have never seen the Little Mermaid, but I think I might now that I’ve read your post on Ursula. My post today (V) was for Disney Villainesses – they are some of my favorite characters, and much more interesting and multi-dimensional than those silly pink princesses running around. Thanks for the great post! 😀

  3. Pingback: V is for Val Kilmer | theocdsquirrel·

  4. Pingback: W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award | theocdsquirrel·

  5. Pingback: X is for Xena Warrior Princess | theocdsquirrel·

  6. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

  7. Pingback: Z is for Zippa-dee-doo-dah | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

