P is for Paleo (caveman eating)

PI hate diets. I hate people who say they’re on diets. I also hate people who say their diet isn’t a diet, but a ‘way of living’. Pffft. Like hell.

I’ve tried almost every diet under the sun and have never been able to stick to them. The soup diet, the juice diet, the maple syrup diet I heard Beyonce was on, Atkins, Dukan, and even the ‘eat everything green’ diet. But they’re only good for like a week or so, or until you start craving pizza, and you find yourself in the corner of your room on the floor surrounded by pizza boxes because you just had to.

The only ‘way of living’ I’ve started to enjoy is the Paleo diet. If you’re not familiar with it, it basically means eating like a caveman. Anything you could hunt or find like meat, vegetables, fruits, leafy greens, seeds and nuts – avoiding grains, along with anything that a prehistoric man wouldn’t have recognised, such as dairy, pulses, sugar and, of course, processed food.

paleo-foods-300x243If a caveman couldn’t eat it, neither can you. So, the pasta, cereal, and chocolate aren’t allowed.

CUE THE CRYING (and throwing yourself to the floor like a toddler having a tantrum)…

It ain’t all bad though, there are tons of things you can make that are amazing and you wouldn’t even think they’re healthy. In the last six months I’ve made chocolate and sweet potato brownies (that are to die for!), chocolate cookies, and herbed focaccia bread. That’s right, even bread.

But you hate diets? I hear you mutter under your *angry there’s no pizza allowed* breath. Thing is, I don’t like keeping track of how much I’ve eaten or obsessing over how many grams or calories I’ve had.

Some people think it’s a fad or marketing ploy but I’ve grown more used to it. Yeah there are the times where I’ve had a couple of crumpets, a pizza or a huge fat slab of lasagne, but most of the time I try to eat meat, vegetables and nuts.

what-is-paleo-caveman-dietOur ancestors many years ago thrived as hunter-gatherers. They were tall, muscular, athletic and agile. These days, the average person is a little overweight, stressed, out of shape and sleep deprived. Remind you of anyone?

Since I’ve started eating more like a caveman and cut out the bread every morning and lunch, the chocolate for elevenses, and so on, and eaten more meat, fish, eggs and vegetables, I feel less bloated. I feel like I genuinely do have more energy (yes I still have coffee) but I feel better.

Our bodies are designed to work on a lower amount of carbohydrates than what we’re used to eating. When there is an absence of carbs, our body will take stored fat and burn that for energy.

Mark’s Daily Apple ispretty good for some tips on paleo and general fitness, so definitely check him out. He’s good at explaining things in a way you can actually understand rather than just nod and agree anything sinking in.

There are some great meals out there you can make like chicken fajitas with guacamole, lamb and spaghetti squash, or pizza (YES PIZZA, without flour)…you should check out Paleo Plan for some some crazy good recipes that’ll not only make you dribble but feel better.

 

|| Part of the A to Z Challenge ||

A post a day except Sunday for the month of April to cover topics beginning with each letter of the alphabet.

Previously on A to Z:

N is for Norwegian Trolls

M is for (not) Making Friends

L is for Love (cue puke)

K is for Keyser Soze

J is for Jiminy Cricket

I is for Investigative Journalism

H is for Hibernate

G is for the Great South Run

F is for The Fureys

E is for Everlasting Gobstoppers

D is for Derren Brown

C is for Coffee

B is for Bill Bailey

A is for Avocado

15 responses to “P is for Paleo (caveman eating)

  1. I find Paleo interesting. I like my carbs and processed sugars far too much to go full Paleo, but we did do a full Paleo Thanksgiving dinner last year. It was pretty darned spectacular. My favorite was a chorizo stuffing recipe I happened upon. Everyone else seemed to love it too…not a leftover in sight. Elle @ Erratic Project Junkie

  2. Pingback: Q is for Queen | theocdsquirrel·

  3. Pingback: R is for Reality | theocdsquirrel·

  4. Pingback: S is for Snoring | theocdsquirrel·

  5. Pingback: T is for Talking | theocdsquirrel·

  6. Pingback: U is for Disney’s Ursula | theocdsquirrel·

  7. I met someone recently who tried to convince me the 5:2 ‘fast’ diet was a sustainable way of living. (are you crazy?)

    I can get behind the no grains of the Paleo diet – but not the no dairy business. (Also some people on Paleo are turning into the new Vegans – I get it, I don’t a lecture every time i fancy come Pasta)x

    • They’re turning into the vegans? Whaaat?! That sounds crazy. I’ve heard of the 5:2 diet but am not sold on it at all. I like eating fruit, veg and meat…and then having the odd treat (which may not be paleo) but it’s a treat if I’ve worked hard. BRING ME THE PIZZA

  8. Pingback: V is for Val Kilmer | theocdsquirrel·

  9. Pingback: W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award | theocdsquirrel·

  10. Pingback: X is for Xena Warrior Princess | theocdsquirrel·

  11. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

  12. Pingback: Z is for Zippa-dee-doo-dah | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

