H is for Hibernate

HI’ve never thought it weird that I only get 4-5 hours sleep a night.

I thrive on less sleep, and Ilive on coffee.

That’s the way it’s always been. At least since Uni, when I was in the library or lectures all day, and worked at Route 66 all night.

I somehow become more grumpy the more sleep I have.

How can I become more grumpy I hear you ask?

Well, the more sleep I have, the more I want my bed, the more I want to stay in my bed, and the more bitchy resting face I’ll have for the rest of the day.

When I spend too long in what I call bliss, aka wrapped up in my duvet all tucked in with no gaps to let the cold in – I wonder if this is what bears feel like when they know winter is approaching.

kieranmcgovern_hibernation_brown_bear_vimeo.pngYou have this innate need to store lots of food (in your belly), which makes you feel more sleepy. Then there’s the feeling of wanting to slow everything down, quieten down and for the world to just slowly go away while you close your eyes.

This state of inactivity can be brought on by low body temperature, slow breathing and heart rate, and low metabolic rate, and is not only to be nice and warm, but to conserve energy during a period such as winter when food might not be so readily available.

Apparently, when the female polar bear goes into hibernation during the cold winter months, she loses 15-27 per cent of her pre-hibernation weight and uses stored fats for energy during times of food scarcity, or hibernation.

Well, when in Rome!

ZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

 

 || Part of the A to Z Challenge ||

A post a day except Sunday for the month of April to cover topics beginning with each letter of the alphabet.

Previously on A to Z:

G is for the Great South Run

F is for The Fureys

E is for Everlasting Gobstoppers

D is for Derren Brown

C is for Coffee

B is for Bill Bailey

A is for Avocado

22 responses to “H is for Hibernate

  1. It’s a sensible way to get through winter. I would happily go to sleep sometime around October and wake up end of April. Plus there is the advantage of living off my fat so I would wake up skinny! Win-win situation. This A to Z challenge is so much fun!

  2. Pingback: I is for Investigative Journalism | theocdsquirrel·

  3. Pingback: J is for Jiminy Cricket | theocdsquirrel·

  4. Pingback: K is for Keyser Soze | theocdsquirrel·

  5. Pingback: L is for Love (cue puke) | theocdsquirrel·

  6. Pingback: M is for (not) Making Friends | theocdsquirrel·

  7. Pingback: N is for Norwegian Trolls | theocdsquirrel·

  8. Pingback: O is for Oranges (and powers) | theocdsquirrel·

  9. Pingback: P is for Paleo (caveman eating) | theocdsquirrel·

  10. Pingback: Q is for Queen | theocdsquirrel·

  11. Pingback: R is for Reality | theocdsquirrel·

  12. Pingback: S is for Snoring | theocdsquirrel·

  13. Pingback: T is for Talking | theocdsquirrel·

  14. Pingback: U is for Disney’s Ursula | theocdsquirrel·

  15. Pingback: V is for Val Kilmer | theocdsquirrel·

  16. Pingback: W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award | theocdsquirrel·

  17. Pingback: X is for Xena Warrior Princess | theocdsquirrel·

  18. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

  19. Pingback: Z is for Zippa-dee-doo-dah | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

