A is for Avocado

AThey’re green. They’re a little slimy and they’re covered in a layer that – to me – resembles the skin of a dinosaur.

So you can imagine why it’s taken more than 20 years for me to want to try an avocado.

But, seeing as it’s on my 30 Things before end of 2014 list, and today is the start of April’s Blog A-to-Z Challenge…beginning with the letter A, I’ve decided there’s no better time than any to try my first avocado.

photo 3Last night I decided to make lunch for today, comprising: smoked mackerel, green olives, crispy kale, aubergine, halloumi, mushroom, sweet potato, and of course some alligator pear avocado.

Just running my hand over the lumpy exterior made my skin crawl. Slicing into the fruit and/or vegetable with such ease also made me shiver. When the skin peeled back, this bright flash of green came into sight and took me by surprise. But, being a trooper, I continued to slice the avocado and add it to my salad.

It is now 1pm on Tuesday 1 April and I’m about to try it for the first time. MOMENT OF TRUTH.

**Waits with bated breath as I lift the lid off the salad box**

Well, the texture is weird but it’s not too bad. I don’t know whether to enjoy it or feel underwhelmed…I can’t really taste anything. Strange isn’t it that when you build up something like fear of food so much in your mind, you’re filled with disappointment when you find you actually enjoy it?

The verdict is that I no longer want to fear avocado. It complements my salad in both appearance and texture, and I have to admit that I am enjoying eating it all.

Maybe if I eat it by itself just scooping it I’ll have a different opinion? I don’t think I’m ready yet for avocado on toast like those hard core eaters out there.

Since I declared I hadn’t tried it before, not only was I met with looks of disgust, I was also bombarded with comments from people about why avocado is so good for you. I’ve heard that it’s an excellent source of fiber, vitamins and natural fats, and also that:

  • Avocados may help lower cholesterol
  • Avocados may reduce the risk of diabetes, stroke, and coronary artery disease
  • Avocados may promote a healthy body weight and BMI
  • Avocados may help prevent cancer

So, not all bad ay? Are there any foods you’re afraid to try?

 

|| Part of the A to Z Challenge ||

A post a day except Sunday for the month of April to cover topics beginning with each letter of the alphabet.

54 responses to “A is for Avocado

  1. There aren’t many foods I dislike, but offal is one set which I just can’t face.

    Mashed potato is another, but that harks back to school days (and is another story!)

  2. This is great! But seriously so long to try an avocado? Flavour may depend on how ripe it is. You can ripen them faster in a bowl of bananas.
    I had my first one as avocado and prawns age 8 or 9 – 70′s classic!
    Avocado is going to be my ‘f’ letter – for faberge avocado for this avocado meal I helped with but never got round to adding to my own blog: http://www.msmarmitelover.com/2011/10/avocado-week-recipes.html – you should find some other great avocado ideas there! The avocado pisco sour was great!
    Also avocado ice cream is great & avocado chilled soup in summer. An 80′s classix was baked avocado & stilton – another one for you to try!

    See you on #bloghour tonight?

    http://www.thecotswoldfoodyear.com/search/label/A%20to%20Z%20Challenge

  3. Avocado is still weird to me, especially because I have never encountered it in sandwiches until I came to the USA. But I remember my family buying one when I was little, and then I tried to plant the seed. It actually grew into a little plant for a while. 🙂
    Happy A to Z!
    Tarkabarka from
    MopDog – The crazy thing about Hungarians…
    Multicolored Diary – Tales of Colors

  4. I love Avocado. It’s funny, it’s so much a part of my world that I forget there are some people who haven’t tried it or don’t like it. My husband doesn’t like cauliflower so I stopped making it and went so long without having it that I was afraid to try it again because I was afraid I wouldn’t like it.

  5. Pretty darn good for breakfast if you bake an egg inside half OR make an avocado smoothies. I like that it’s very mild, so you can have it in savory AND sweet dishes!

  6. Hi, you are brave having got over your fear of avocados. I am petrified of papaya although it comes with a whole lot of health benefits. I can’t stand the smell of papayas. I wish I could be as courageous as you to try it 🙂

  7. You shouldn’t cut the avocado until you want to eat it. It oxidizes in air and turns brown. Maybe if you got a firmer one it would taste different?

  8. Pingback: So Many Blogs and Not Enough Time: The A to Z Challenge So Far | RAFrenzy·

  9. Pingback: C is for Coffee | theocdsquirrel·

  10. This is a pretty big moment! Avocados are one of my favourite things & it is amazing on toast and with a tomato and mozzarella salad. I’m glad you like it and no longer fear them! 🙂

  11. Pingback: B is for Bill Bailey | theocdsquirrel·

  12. Pingback: D is for Derren Brown | theocdsquirrel·

  13. Pingback: E is for Everlasting Gobstoppers | theocdsquirrel·

  14. Pingback: F is for The Fureys | theocdsquirrel·

  15. Pingback: G is for the Great South Run | theocdsquirrel·

  16. Pingback: H is for Hibernate | theocdsquirrel·

  17. Pingback: I is for Investigative Journalism | theocdsquirrel·

  18. Pingback: J is for Jiminy Cricket | theocdsquirrel·

  19. Pingback: K is for Keyser Soze | theocdsquirrel·

  20. Pingback: L is for Love (cue puke) | theocdsquirrel·

  21. Pingback: M is for (not) Making Friends | theocdsquirrel·

  22. Pingback: N is for Norwegian Trolls | theocdsquirrel·

  23. Pingback: O is for Oranges (and powers) | theocdsquirrel·

  24. Pingback: P is for Paleo (caveman eating) | theocdsquirrel·

  25. Pingback: Q is for Queen | theocdsquirrel·

  26. Pingback: R is for Reality | theocdsquirrel·

  27. Pingback: S is for Snoring | theocdsquirrel·

  28. Pingback: T is for Talking | theocdsquirrel·

  29. Pingback: U is for Disney’s Ursula | theocdsquirrel·

  30. Pingback: V is for Val Kilmer | theocdsquirrel·

  31. Pingback: W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award | theocdsquirrel·

  32. Pingback: X is for Xena Warrior Princess | theocdsquirrel·

  33. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

  34. Pingback: Z is for Zippa-dee-doo-dah | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

