B is for Bill Bailey

BMy dear dear Bill Bailey.

When the letter B came up in the April’s Blog A-to-Z Challenge I racked my brain for what I should write about and then suddenly the image of you and your wispy hair popped into mind, like a welcomed smack in the face. Of course it was going to be you, Mr Bill Bailey.

BillBaileyOr should I say…Mark Bailey. Dun dun duuuuuuuuuun. That’s right, I know the truth. You’ve been lying to me the last 20 years, letting me think you were called Bill.

It’s ok though. Your natural hippie-ish tendencies have not lost me as a fan just yet. With your talented eclectic mix of jazz, rock, rave, classical, and drum’n’bass, and the fact you are fluent in keyboard, guitar, kazoo and bongos, yes bongos, your comic value is a bonus.

I’ve always been a fan of the medieval roadie you, but I think I fell hard when I first saw you in Black Books, and ever since then my sister has called me Manny because I couldn’t get enough of the show. Bill-Bailey-007I swear the intro music on the DVD still haunts me because I’d fall asleep with the episodes on repeat, and the music on the menu page would just play in the background until I woke up to turn it off.

I have your standups on DVD and yes, I could probably recite the shows back to you…from being a 1982 Michael Bolton Stars in Their Eyes regional finalist, to imagining that George W Bush’s notorious Axis of Evil is served by a call centre to Little Chefs being originally built on ley lines then the roads came in and connected them up…they still crack me up.

bill_baileyIt is blasphemous that I haven’t seen your music/comedy live yet, but to save my soul, I did see you in December last year for a day of science-based shenanigans. It was there at Consensus – Science Talks, at Excel London that you introduced me to the works of Alfred Russel Wallace.

That day was a highlight for me because not only did I get to sit, watch and listen to your whimsical ways, I also got to see my other heroes; Richard Dawkins and Richard Wiseman. So Mr Bailey, you did good.

You will forever be the extraordinary natural-history expert, hirsute polymath, comedian, raconteur and musician I have come to adore.

Why aren’t you a Sir Bailey yet???

 

|| Part of the A to Z Challenge ||

A post a day except Sunday for the month of April to cover topics beginning with each letter of the alphabet.

Previously on A to Z:

A is for Avocado

27 responses to “B is for Bill Bailey

  1. Pingback: D is for Derren Brown | theocdsquirrel·

  2. Pingback: C is for Coffee | theocdsquirrel·

  3. Pingback: E is for Everlasting Gobstoppers | theocdsquirrel·

  4. Pingback: F is for The Fureys | theocdsquirrel·

  5. Pingback: G is for the Great South Run | theocdsquirrel·

  6. Pingback: H is for Hibernate | theocdsquirrel·

  7. Pingback: I is for Investigative Journalism | theocdsquirrel·

  8. Pingback: J is for Jiminy Cricket | theocdsquirrel·

  9. Pingback: K is for Keyser Soze | theocdsquirrel·

  10. Pingback: L is for Love (cue puke) | theocdsquirrel·

  11. Pingback: M is for (not) Making Friends | theocdsquirrel·

  12. Pingback: N is for Norwegian Trolls | theocdsquirrel·

  13. Pingback: O is for Oranges (and powers) | theocdsquirrel·

  14. Pingback: P is for Paleo (caveman eating) | theocdsquirrel·

  15. Pingback: Q is for Queen | theocdsquirrel·

  16. Pingback: R is for Reality | theocdsquirrel·

  17. Pingback: S is for Snoring | theocdsquirrel·

  18. Pingback: World Book Night – fancy a read? | theocdsquirrel·

  19. Pingback: T is for Talking | theocdsquirrel·

  20. Pingback: U is for Disney’s Ursula | theocdsquirrel·

  21. Pingback: V is for Val Kilmer | theocdsquirrel·

  22. Pingback: W is for Winning the Most Innovative Blog Award | theocdsquirrel·

  23. Pingback: X is for Xena Warrior Princess | theocdsquirrel·

  24. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

  25. Pingback: Z is for Zippa-dee-doo-dah | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

