A trip to Athens

10009304_10152291583372188_1043729501_nEarlier this year I had the amazing opportunity to travel to Athens for a couple of days in March. This wasn’t a holiday of course, it was for work, but that didn’t stop me from having fun or taking in the breathtaking sights.

As mentioned in previous posts and by the size of my nose, I’m half Greek and have spent many summers with my family in Cyprus. I’d only been to Greece once before, and even though I’m used to the heat, the food and culture of the Greeks, this trip knocked me good and proper and gave me an experience I’ll never forget.

The trip was organised by not-for-profit organisation of the country’s private tourism industry, Marketing Greece, who aim to promote the growing optimism of Athens. (For more information on my write-up for work, read here).

During my time there, I was lucky enough to visit the historic Acropolis and its museum, the new National Museum of Contemporary Art (before it had even opened), I wined and dined in a Michelin-starred restaurant while celebrating my birthday over there, and I met some great people. And the food. Oh the food. It was glorious.

Some experiences you can’t put into words, so here’s a video that says it all. (You’ll notice a lot of food pics #sorrynotsorry)

 

Day 10 of #BEDN and #NaBloPoMo

Leave a Reply

