30 before end of 2014 List

Lots of people makephoto 1[1] lists. Lots of people tick off items on a list when they’re done.

And that’s what I’d like to do. I used to make lists all the time when I was younger, I used to be so organised. I’d make lists before I went to bed and put them on the bedside cabinet. When I woke up the next morning, I’d be ready with my list so I wouldn’t forget tasks lay ahead of me for the day.

Now, I’m lucky if I remember to buy a refill for my Filofax every year.

This year I hope will be different.

I was thinking about making a list of things I want achieved and want to do by a certain age. For example, 26 things to do before I turn 26. But my birthday is in March, so that doesn’t leave me with much time to achieve my list of goals (some may be extreme).

So, I’ve decided to make a list of 30 things I’d like to do/achieve/see this year. In 2014, I’ll look back and hopefully be able to tick off the whole list, if not most of it.

I am one of those people that gets down when I haven’t reached goals I’ve set myself – especially if it’s reasonably achievable, so by sharing this, hopefully it’ll make me more determined to cross some of the goals off my list. I’m pretty excited to start planning and scheming to achieve some of these goals already!

30 before end of 2014 List

1. Read a book a month

2. Get a promotion/pay rise

3. Learn how to speak Greek

4. Try avocado (and not to be so afraid of it)

5. Go on one special date a month with the boyf

6. Learn how to play my guitar

7. Go to Ireland to see Dad

8. Complete the Great South Run (and beat my first time from 2011)

9. Get every Nicholas Cage film on DVD (to date)

10. Learn how to whistle a tune (rather than a flat note)

11. Have a photo taken with someone famous

12. Find a nice warm clean flat/house to move into with the boyf

13. Buy a bigger fish tank with lots of plants for the fish

14. Start a book club

15. Be a size 10

16. Go to at least two live gigs

17. Go back to yoga (hot or not)

18. Upgrade my phone

19. Win an eating competition (possibly against my brother?)

20. Do more freelance work

21. Visit Amsterdam

22. Get Howl’s Moving Castle tattooed on my thigh

23. Get Mam a small tattoo (!!!)

24. Go on one special date a month with Lorna and Olly

25. Become self-hosted

26. Finish writing my book

27. Go to Paris for a (long?) weekend

28. Find a niche market and create an eBay shop

29. See a film at the cinema once a month

30. Get a new car

Let’s meet back this time next year to see how well I’ve done, do doubt I’ll be updating every so often with goals off the list. What goals do you have in mind for 2014?

Please vote for me in the National UK Blog Awards

https://theocdsquirrel.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/national-uk-blog-awards/
Point+Shoot_snowingindoors.com

15 responses to “30 before end of 2014 List

  1. This is a great list, and I definitely think it’s a good idea to make a list like this because it inspires you to actually achieve your goals! I have a 32 Before 32 list running alongside my 2014 goals list – so many lists! It helps to keep me busy though!

    Good luck!

    • Thanks for reading – I wasn’t going to make a list because I didn’t think they’d be a good read but I realised I was making the list for myself. Yes definitely inspiring and already ticking off a couple of goals or at least planning them. I’ll have a look at your lists 🙂

  2. Good luck with avocado, that is one weird food item, for some reason I imagine it’d taste soapy! Maybe have an avocado eating competition and kill two birds with one stone?!! 😉

    Thanks for joining in with Point + Shoot xx

  3. This is a great list! I like the one about going to the cinema once a month because that’s something I wish I did more. I hope you can check plenty of these off, there’s some really fun ones! 🙂 Good luck.

    • Thanks 🙂 I hope I can check off lots on the list too. I was going to do a list of 50 but couldn’t think of enough. Now I keep on adding some in my head! One of my friends added ‘doing a move marathon all nighter’ to her list 🙂

  4. Good luck with your list! I’m doing something similar in that I’m trying to do as many things that I’ve never done before (from Nov 2013 to Nov 2014).

    • I like your list it’s inspiring – especially travelling to Berlin alone. I keep looking at flight prices etc to go somewhere for a weekend on my own. I don’t know what’s stopping me. Plus I’ve never been to a roller disco before either. Maybe I should do a “Do everything on Anthony’s list before I’m 30 List”?

      • Haha I like it. I would definitely love to help inspire other people to try new things. Roller Disco was fun and Berlin was amazing. I think it’s better to travel with people but with sites like couchsurfer it’s so easy to meet other travellers and people who live in the place you are visiting. So don’t let not having someone to travel with stop you. I’d certainly travel alone again (if I had the money I’d be doing it right now).

  5. Pingback: Chocolate and Sweet Potato Brownies | theocdsquirrel·

  6. Pingback: Coffee with a dog and goat | theocdsquirrel·

  7. Pingback: amee-dsouza.com » Blow Your Own Bloghorn (4 january)·

  8. Pingback: A is for Avocado | theocdsquirrel·

  9. Pingback: Y is for what you can do in a Year | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

