Family Jewels

#BEDN20

IMG_3827Today’s been a good day. And a funny one at that.

All day I’ve been thinking of how to summarise it in words and came up with one word. Romanticism. After spending the day with family, I realised that I like to romanticise places. People love the places they are from, the places they’ve spent time in and the places they wish to go. Places that hold memories. And I think Cyprus is just that.

Growing up here every summer since I was little, I’ve become accustomed to the culture, food, people and the sound of the language. Just the essence of Cyprus holds a place in my heart. And I have my family to thank for that.

Only some of the cousins

Only some of the cousins

Yes it’s a shame that my grandparents live here in another country, as do my cousins and auntie but I don’t think that it has hindered our relationships at all. If anything, it has made us all stronger. It’s easy for families and friends to fall apart whether they live close or not, and living in another country does make it harder, but I believe the time apart and distance has made us closer.

We all have our ups and downs in life, and whether we want to speak about them or not, it’s nice to have family about to just sit with, have a cup of coffee with or drive around with. It’s not like just having a friend there, it’s more, you have a bond with your family and you trust them. Sitting there in silence can be enough. It’s comforting knowing they care for you, and will be there for you. I know not all families find it easy, especially when hard times strike but it’s during those times that I’ve fallen in the dark myself and found my family there to support me,

IMG_3834My grandma has recently come out of surgery and spent the last week resting, with my grandad waiting on her hand and foot. The minute she knew I was coming to visit, she shot up and headed straight to the kitchen to prepare the Greek food she knows I like (she makes the best food EVER). When I saw her this morning I was so overwhelmed by her presence that I could’ve cried, but I knew it’d start everyone else off. She’s a very strong woman, and even though her English is pretty broken, she tries her best, she’s my yiayia – did I mention she makes the best food EVER?

I’m always scared when I see her and my grandad that they’ll look old because sometimes it’s a year or two gap between visits, and I don’t want them to change. I don’t like change, and I’m glad to see they haven’t changed one bit.

As kids we’d play on the streets around the house because it was safe to and there were never any cars. We’d hide in the trees along the road, we’d chase lizards around the garden and neighbouring fields, and run after the icecream van when it drove past the house.

The trees have all been cut down, there are new roads now adjoining the main roads and it’s no longer as quiet as it used to be. But their house is still the same. The rooms we’d play in still look the same, and the food still tastes the same, so I feel like a child again running around without a care in the world.

Tomorrow I’ll be spending the day with my grandparents so expect the tear works and some more gush about why I love my family…and my grandma’s cooking!

UKBA14-Entry1BEDN

3 responses to “Family Jewels

  1. Pingback: Pappoúdes Spíti Mou | theocd squirrel·

  2. Pingback: Food Glorious Food | theocd squirrel·

  3. Pingback: A week gone by | theocd squirrel·

Leave a Reply

