Sitting on a cloud…or a train

#BEDN3

Photo: bellaphon

Photo: bellaphon

Maybe it’s because I’ve got a large (skinny, extra hot) Mocha in my hands that I’m no supposed to be drinking, and I feel pretty giddy about it.

Maybe it’s because I’m sitting on a step that’s freezing my ass as I’m waiting for a train, so much so that the cold has reached my brain and is making me feel funny.

Maybe it’s because I’m wearing a beanie hat I haven’t worn in over a year. The kind of beanie hat that brings me back to my grunge days, but also keeps my ears and head warm.

Or maybe, I feel like I’m sitting on a cloud because a song I like is playing.

Sitting and watching the world go by is something we don’t do enough. Especially in a city like London where our lives go by so quickly and we don’t have the time to stop and appreciate it. Scratch that, rewind. We DO have the time, we just don’t think about it, and we spend the time we could use to notice little things in life to rush around instead always running for a bus or a train or for a meeting.

I think that’s why I like a long train journey. To some, it might seem like one of the worse things because you’re stuck in a moving box with people you don’t know for longer than you want to be. But, if you think about it, it’s an ideal opportunity to get back the time you’ve lost rushing around. You now have time to read that book you’ve been meaning to read, the one you keep picking up, and then putting down because the phone rings or someone’s knocking at the door.

I tend to spend my long train journeys catching up on The Walking Dead. I don’t make the time in the week to watch programmes I like, so sitting on a train with nothing else to do is a great chance to catch up on Rick and his homies living life in a land of zombies. Thanks to long train journeys, I’ve managed to get through the likes of Dexter, Luther, Sherlock, Game of Thrones, and Grey’s Anatomy. I always carry Stephen King’s IT with me, with the intention of reading but I always get distracted by people around me if I haven’t got my headphones on.

For example right now, a mother and son near me are talking in sign language. Hopefully they don’t think I’m staring but I like watching how other people interact. I studied a little of British Sign Language (BSL) at uni so I like to see if I can keep up when people are signing to each other.

Photo: yukittie

Photo: yukittie

The song I was listening to was Skinny Love by Birdy.

I don’t know what it is, but the song makes me feel like I’m floating. It sounds so cliched, but I can only describe the song as utter beauty, and during the three minutes and 23 seconds that the song played, I closed my eyes and felt like I was sitting on a cloud.

I couldn’t feel the cold around me, I couldn’t feel the wind or floor  tremble under my feet when a train roared past. I felt weightless. No thoughts entered my head, the stresses that prey on my mind wandered away, it was just bliss.

That’s another good thing about long journeys. You can just sit back, stick your headphones on, play a good song and you’ll feel relaxed.

You should try it sometime.

UKBA14-Entry1BEDN

3 responses to “Sitting on a cloud…or a train

  1. Pingback: Coffee with a dog and goat | theocdsquirrel·

  2. Pingback: Like a broken record | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

