Vitality and Food

Two of my major pet peeves are being bombarded with spam emails or ‘newsletters’ AND being told how and what to eat. But alas, I have found a most happy medium …in the form of Vitality and Food.

I’ve always been a little overweight, miserable, and worst of all, a binge eater. (Heaven forbid if pizza and cheese suddenly disappeared – I don’t know what I’d do!) Not only do I like to ignore facts in life, I’m also as stubborn as hell. When people start talking about what’s not healthy and what you shouldn’t eat, I get angry and walk away because I don’t like being told what I can’t do.

So you can understand how hesitant I was when my friend suggested we go to a ‘health’ workshop run by a lady she knows to see if the content was any good. Considering this was my longest-serving friend who recommended the workshop, I of course trusted her and went along.

Ania Nowicki - Health & Vitality

Ania Nowicki – Health & Vitality

I met the lovely Ania Nowicki and immediately fell in love with her glowing smile and warm nature. I listened to how she too felt miserable with her weight and used to suffer from IBS, mood swings and allergies when she was younger. I felt at ease, knowing that someone else had felt the same lethargic way. Ania went on to explain that she received training from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, where she was trained in dietary theories and studied a variety of practical lifestyle coaching methods.

I was still a little hesitant, waiting for her to start listing what we shouldn’t be eating and what to cut out of our diets. But to be honest, I don’t remember her actually saying the word “can’t”. So I signed up to her emails and newsletters straight away and have found that her workshops offer more of an understanding about the world of food and health rather than telling people what to do. Her words are all about what you can do. There are no shadows of negativity at all.

health2-resized What’s funny, in a cool semantic way is the location of the workshops, held in an actual health food shop, Health Zone, in Wimbledon London. You’re sitting listening to Ania, sampling some of the food on offer and also watching people shop in the store.

One of the reasons why I like receiving the Vitality&Food emails and not sending them straight to my junk folder is because of the tone of honesty. I understand that the emails go to the wide number of subscribers but they still seem tailored to the individual, as if Ania is speaking directly to you.

Some of Ania’s events included: 7 ways to increase your vitality and get through the grey of the winter, How to make your partner “nutty” for you; using nuts to make gourmet food, Coconut oil 101: Everything you need to know about coconut oil and its uses, and Friendly Bacteria.

Ania produces recipes that you wouldn’t expect at all, such as plum-chocolate mousse, lemon curd and chocolate brownies. Like I said before, it’s all about what you can have, and ways to improve your health rather than cut stuff out. There seems to be a solution for everything.

I have established in a previous post that I am the biggest hypochondriac, I am also the biggest sufferer of chronic sinus problems, including snoring, headaches and not being able to breathe through my nose.

Ania suggested using a Neti pot. It’s a ceramic pot that looks like a cross between a small teapot and Aladdin’s magic lamp – used for ‘nasal irrigation’. The basic explanation of how the Neti pot works is that it thins mucus to help flush it out of the nasal passages. You mix half a teaspoon of salt in 220ml (8oz) of lukewarm water, tilt your head over the sink at about a 45-degree angle. Place the spout into your top nostril, and gently pour the saline solution into that nostril.

Sounds scary doesn’t it, but I’m not one to back away. So I shall test this and report back at how effective (and unscary) the Neti pot is. It sounds too cute to be scary.

I really would recommend attending one of the workshops, signing up to her health coaching, or at least subscribe to the newsletter emails. Plus, if you ever have a question, Ania emails back really quickly and efficiently.

The content really is interesting, and I guarantee you’ll learn something new, even if you think you know everything (like me).

Leave a Reply

