Popping corn in a dream

Sometimes it’s a sad feeling to wake up from a lumbersome dream, without having any recollection of what’s occupied your mind the night before. It is believed that the images, sounds and emotions featured in dreams are a reflection of what you’ve experienced in hours, days, even weeks leading up to that night’s sleeping wonder. All it takes is a word, scent or a flash of colour to stick in your mind, to then reappear within a dream. Where some believe that dreams are actually messages from gods, the deceased or from the soul, I’m still trying to figure out why I dreamt of microwavable popcorn.

I can’t for the life of me remember everything that had happened in my dream last night. All I know is that if it wasn’t for the light outside trying to sneak in through the gap between the curtains, I’d have found that packet of microwavable popcorn I’d somehow lost in my dream, and who knows what adventure I’d then have gone on to encounter.

I wasn’t ready to wake up, it wasn’t my time yet.

Everything seemed blurry and blissful in this dream.

When I woke up, I realised I knew exactly where the popcorn was!!! Sitting up straight, I said aloud to an empty room “the popcorn’s in the playroom!” I’d gone food shopping the day before and put some bags in the playroom! How could I not know this in my dream?

I dived back under the duvet, masking my face from any sign of waking light. I even stuck my hand out from under the duvet to turn my tv back on (I have this tendency to fall asleep quickly with some sort of sound in the background). You know when you go to the toilet in the middle of the night and you daren’t rub the sleep from your eyes because you want to stay in that state of sleepiness – I hadn’t even rubbed my eyes, so why was I finding it so hard to get back to sleep.

I just wanted to slip back to the land of dreams, because I now knew where the popcorn was. With the discovery of its whereabouts, I could do anything. I could go back to that blur of bliss I once was in a moment ago. Is there a secret or a hidden trap door showing you the way to return to a dream?

There are some things in life that you know won’t last, but you still try with all your might to hold on to it for a moment longer because it keeps you happy, even for a bit. The dream probably wasn’t too important, (if the gods wanted to send me a message, I’m sure they’ll find another way) but I just felt the need to go back and complete my adventures. Too many dreams are left unfinished due to selfish alarm clocks and mischevious light escaping into people’s rooms.

The popcorn did taste good later though. Nom nom nom…

Leave a Reply

