Herbed focaccia bread – minus the flour

I love bread.photo 1

I love soda bread. I love cheesy bread. I love olive bread. And most of all, I love crumpets (with a heap of butter and a smidge if HP brown sauce. Yes please).

But the older I get, the more my body doesn’t agree with bread. I don’t know whether it’s the yeast or flour or whatever, I just don’t tend to feel that well after I’ve had some. I feel bloated, lethargic and quickly stuffed. So I’ve started to scour the internet for some good recipes my belly might agree with.

As you might have guessed from other posts on the blog, I’m on a mission to experiment with food and mixing ingredients I wouldn’t normally put together. So far I have made some amazing paleo chocolate and sweet potato brownies and some not so healthy but equally amazing chocolate and beetroot cake.

I’ve found it hard to find a good brand, loaf or even slice of bread that not only tastes good but doesn’t contain any flour. However, on the Paleo website I’ve been living on for the last couple of weeks, I found a fantastic recipe for paleo herbed focaccia bread. Traditional focaccia is an Italian bread that is crisp, light, and coated with olive oil. It’s supposed to be an airy, flat loaf and is often made with herbs, vegetables, or olives.

(I’m not a big fan of coconut and a lot of these paleo recipes use coconut oil/flour etc instead of the unhealthy ingredients like plain flour. In this recipe I substituted the coconut flour for ground almonds)

The bread is delicious on its own, but you can customise it however you like with cherry tomatoes for example, or olives, onions or roasted garlic. So here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

4 large eggs

1/4 cup coconut cream from the top of a can of coconut milk (I looked this up because I didn’t understand what they meant, but if you put the tin of coconut milk in the fridge for 30 mins, when you take it out and open it, you’ll find a top layer of cream has formed on top of the milk – this is what you need to use)

1/4 cup coconut flourphoto 2

1/2 teaspoon sea salt (make sure you don’t put any more in like I did)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 tablespoons fresh chopped herbs of your choice, such as rosemary, thyme, or oregano

Olive oil, for brushing

Coarse sea salt, for topping

Toppings of your choice, such as chopped olives, halved cherry tomatoes, roasted garlic cloves, etc (I put some olives and garlic on mine…nom nom nom!)

photo 4Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 celsius)

2. Beat the eggs with the coconut cream until smooth. In a medium bowl, combine the coconut flour, salt, and baking soda.

3. Add the egg mixture to the flour and stir until well combined. This will look really lumpy but just keep mixing with a whisk until it becomes a smooth batter.

4. Line a pie plate or cake pan with parchment and spread the batter in the pan.

5. Drizzle with olive oil and press your fingers lightly in the mixture to indent. (If topping the bread, add toppings evenly)

6. Bake for 15-20 minutes until top is lightly browned. Remove from the oven and brush with more olive oil. Cool before slicing and serving.

Now I won’t lie, this didn’t turn out like I wanted or expected…but I only have myself to blame.

photo 5When you’re cooking (especially something for the first time) you should concentrate and follow the instructions until you’re comfortable and know what you’re doing.

In hindsight, I shouldn’t have been watching Jeff Daniel’s The Newsroom on my laptop in the kitchen while baking, or sending the odd text, otherwise I wouldn’t have missed out a couple of steps in the instructions.However, the recipe is a good one and so easy to follow (even if I couldn’t).

Yes my bread turned out a little too salty for my liking, and I forgot to put any herbs on the bread until it had already cooked (too distracted!), BUT, it still tasted good.

I’d be really interested to find out how yours has turned out and which ingredients/toppings you’ve used so do let me know. It’s all part of the learning process – I’m going to have another crack at the weekend!

Please vote for me in the National UK Blog Awards

http://theocdsquirrel.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/national-uk-blog-awards/

2 responses to “Herbed focaccia bread – minus the flour

  1. Pingback: Chocolate cookies not to feel guilty about | theocdsquirrel·

  2. Pingback: P is for Paleo (caveman eating) | theocdsquirrel·

Leave a Reply

